Did McCain Make a Pro-Family VP Choice?

I am surprised—although I really shouldn’t be—at the frenzy of support for Governor Palin in the evangelical community. So far I’ve only found one voice (Voddie Baucham) who is taking a genuinely biblical look, even Al Mohler who I respect greatly is quite disappointing in his response. From Mr. Baucham’s comments:

Unfortunately, Christians appear to be headed toward a hairpin turn at breakneck speed without the slightest clue as to the danger ahead. I don’t see this as a pro-family pick at all! Moreover, I believe the conservative fervor over this pick shows how politicized Christians have become at the expense of maintaining a prophetic voice. I believe that Mr. McCain has proven with his VP pick that he is pro-victory, not pro-family. In fact, I believe this was the anti-family pick. I say that for at least two reasons.

Leave it to one voice to ask the question, “but what about her family?”

Speaking of Mr. Mohler, this is a man who is normally relentlessly biblical, but he cannot bring himself to ponder the choice of a woman with 5 kids (three fairly young) taking a job as Vice President in light of Titus 2.3-5. Sad.

This entry was posted in election, palin, vp. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Did McCain Make a Pro-Family VP Choice?

  1. smurferboy says:

    So what’s his two reasons?

  2. Brandon says:

    For the record, I have not joined the “frenzy of support” for Palin. Her responsibilities as a mother hadn’t even crossed my mind until your comment. Since then Hannah and our friend Kristi have been very critical of her decision to run for VP in light of her children. However, my initial (I don’t even know what adjective to use – appreciation/interest?) on the strategic level of the pick – simply that it made McCain more relevant is starting wear off. Not necessarily on the strategy piece, but because of the pure triviality of the whole charade. I know strategists are hired to help candidates win and I have no problem with sharp, unexpected tactics. But the more I observe it, the more it feels very disingenuous. It’s almost as if the reaction to a VP selection is more important than the content of the person.It’s all a little too circus-y for me. It’s like I’m watching a PT Barnum PR stunt – but it’s not for cheap entertainment – it’s for determining the next president. Kind of gives me the creeps. Does any of that make sense?(Same goes for a lot of stuff on the Dems side too.)

  3. John Murphy says:

    Voddie’s 2 reasons are:1. Since men are given headship in spiritual things, we can extend that to civil things as well, so that men should lead. This point is arguable biblically and I don’t necessarily subscribe to it.2. It is impossible to be VP and to be a good mother. Totally agree with this one. How can a pro-family guy go to a woman and say, “will you neglect your family so you can run for VP with me?”Brandon: Agreed. The atmosphere is so PT Barnum that I can’t even watch or read about it. To my way of thinking this is the whole problem with modern 24/7 cable driven politics. It is disgusting and tiring and pathetic and …..I think you are correct when you say the “reaction” is more important than the person. McCain’s people are probably saying, “gee, look at the buzz we created. We are brilliant!” We look more and more like Rome at the end of the democratic period.

  4. David says:

    Is the alternative (Obama–Biden) more committed to following God’s will? Will they more effectively halt the international (it’s not just America) moral slide? I agree that to put faith in ANY man (or woman in this case, not to include Jesus of course) is ill founded, but why are Christians criticizing the one in the mix who openly claims to be a Christian? Should we not be praying for her rather than criticizing her?

  5. John Murphy says:

    Thanks for posting, David. Yes, we definitely should be praying for Governor Palin. My pastor’s wife says that maybe she is there “for such a time as this” like Esther. She may be correct, I don’t know. The point I wanted to make was that the evangelical community was in a frenzy about her without properly thinking through how her role as Vice President would affect her role as mother. Whatever one thinks of the wisdom of Governor Palin’s acceptance of the offer, the evangelical community has done zero to ponder the effect this might have on her five children. That is my criticism. Are we as evangelicals pro-family, or just pro-victory at whatever cost?

Leave a Reply

