Go Laingsburg Soccer!


My son’s team made the state semi-finals last night against a team that was superior in every respect except the final score. It was an amazing battle. We were down 1-0 at half, but came back and scored 2 goals, including the game winner with about 8 minutes left. We all suffered through the last 8 minutes because Mason (the other team) had several shots on goal, but our goalie, Ben Roberts (who was the obvious MVP of the regional tournament) stopped everything. It was awesome!!

Ian Milligan hits the game winner with 8:37 remaining.

This entry was posted in laingsburg, soccer. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Go Laingsburg Soccer!

  1. Anonymous says:

    I would speculate that Laingsburg was superior in 2 areas and I will leave a comment on the third:1) The desire to win2) The Will to make that desire a realityThe following paraphrased quote sums up the wolfpack. “There will always be someone that is better than you in some respect (talent, skill, etc). There is never an excuse for someone to outwork you” 3) The wolfpack outworked Mason

  2. John Murphy says:

    Probably correct. Tactically, Laingsburg played a superior game, even though by every other measure they were outplayed. Remarkable game.

  3. Anonymous says:

    It appears from the article in the paper that the Mason coach also thought that Laingsburg played the better tactical game, something like “Laingsburg had a game plan and played it to perfection”… ???either way, it was a heck of a game, exciting and nerve wracking.From all indications, Laingsburg is in uncharted territory or to quote from Pirates of the Caribbean. “Argh Matie, ye be off the map”

  4. Murf says:

    Yep. It’s a great run for the team! To come back to win in both districts and regionals. Unbelievable.

  5. Anonymous says:

    I play for the Laingsburg soccer team, and I played that entire game. even though mason possesed the ball for much of the time it is because we did not want to make many mistakes. Mason did not have any superior players to ours they just had much practice in spacing and team passing. you could mach up any two players from those teams and there would be no decided favorite. this is why the MVP of the game should be Rysam Hurley. who was taken out of his normal spot and sent to man mark Dagan Hammar. this is why all the match ups of this game favored the wolfpack.

  6. Anonymous says:

    I love the game of soccer. I live and breathe soccer. I like to think that I’ve been there for the Laingsburg guys. I enjoyed being at most of their games and cheering till I get kicked out :] But sadly I wasn’t able to be at that Mason game. I heard about it, read about it, and I’ve even seen the clips on TV. So when I heard that they had won, I went crazy, I really didn’t think they would win. No lying I really wanted them to, but I’ve seen Mason, watched Laingsburg, and what can I say. They played their lives out and deserve more than a medal. They deserved respect and for a long time no one at Laingsburg gave it to them. Even when they won that regional game, the annoucer at the school news show hardly mentioned it. Possibly that’s just me because I’m a fanatic. I just wanted these guys to hold their heads up a little higher for being champions at Laingsburg.

Leave a Reply

