Matt Chandler Interview

Matt is the lead pastor at The Village church in Dallas. This is a fantastic interview covering a lot of ground. Some of the quotes I really like:

Some people think it would be cool if we had a coffee shop. But I don’t want people getting their lattes here. I want them getting their lattes at the four Starbucks in our area so they can get to know the baristas and invite them into our body. I don’t want our church doing basketball tournaments for lost people. Lifetime and LA Fitness already have basketball tournaments filled with lost people. I want our guys playing in those games.

On the Reformed Community:

I’m unapologetically Reformed, but nine times out of ten I cannot stand the Reformed community. I don’t want to be around them. I don’t want to read their blogs. They can be cannibalistic, self-indulgent, non-missional, and angry. It’s silly and sad at the same time. Reformed doctrine should lead to a deep sense of humility and patience with others. How it produces such arrogance baffles me.

On warring against sin:

Sanctification here at The Village begins by answering two questions. What stirs your affections for Jesus Christ? And what robs you of those affections? …The same goes for following sports. It’s not wrong, but if I start watching sports, I begin to care too much. I get stupid. If 19-year-old boys are ruining your day because of what they do with a ball, that’s a problem. These things rob my affections for Christ. I want to fill my life with things that stir my affections for him.

Must read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Matt Chandler Interview

  1. Badger says:

    I saw this earlier and LOVE it. Between the economy in Texas actually being half way decent and this dude's church…I'm really contemplating a move, haha. Or I could just do what I'm sure his advice would be…become part of the solution at my church.

  2. Murf says:

    He probably would recommend that, wouldn't he. I especially liked his emphasis on getting his church members into the public (coffee shops and basketball leagues) rather than a church coffee shop or basketball league.

Leave a Reply

