One Thing I Know

Screen Shot 2014-01-30 at 9.29.41 AMThis is a snapshot of a specialized resource called the High Definition New Testament, published by Logos Bible Software.  I won’t take the time to explain all of the mark up of the text.  Suffice to say that a Greek stud [Steve Runge] went through the New Testament and marked where the Greek is emphasized in different ways.

What I want to get at is the end of the comment by the ex-blind, ex-beggar who had an encounter with Jesus.  He is being interrogated by the Pharisees who say “this man [Jesus] is a sinner.”

The ex-blind, ex-beggar’s response is this: “One thing! I know” [and here John builds tension in the text because we are now anticipating what that one thing is], that though I was blind, now I see!

The Pharisees wanted to argue whether or not Jesus was a sinner, whether or not he was from God, that he in no way could open the eyes of a man blind from birth; but the ex-blind, ex-beggar goes right to the heart of unassailable, eyewitness, participant, experience:  “Whatever dudes!  You can argue that all you want.  Here’s the one thing I know:  I was born blind, now I can see.”

Hard to argue with that.

This entry was posted in gospel of john and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

