A Lesson in Theology…

…that even I [former Marine] can understand.

““If you had known Me, you would have known My Father also; from now on you know Him, and have seen Him.”” (John 14:7 NAS95)

Jesus says that he and the Father are one about six eight different ways in our text (John 14.1-14) here.  He says:

  1. Believe in God; believe also in me (vs. 1)
  2. No one comes to the Father except through me (vs. 6)
  3. If you had known me, you would have known my Father also (vs. 7)
  4. From now on you do know him and have seen him (vs. 7)
  5. Whoever has seen me has seen the Father (vs. 9)
  6. Do you not believe that I am in the Father and the Father is in me (vs. 10)
  7. The Father who dwells in me (vs. 10)
  8. Believe me that I am in the Father and the Father is in me (vs. 11)

Jesus even answers the question that he himself raises by his statements.  How is it that if we have seen Jesus, we have seen the Father?  Answer: Because “I am in the Father and the Father is in me.”  There is such a close, intimate connection that the two cannot be separated, to see Jesus is to see the Father and to know Jesus is to know the Father.

Wayne Grudem summarizes the doctrine of the Trinity in this way: “God is three persons, each fully God; there is one God.”

Do I fully understand that statement?  Nope.  I sure do not.

Do I believe it is true?  Yep.  I sure do.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

