The Seventh “I Am”

“I am the true vine, and my Father is the vinedresser.” (John 15:1, ESV)

This is the seventh and last “I am” statement from Jesus in the Gospel of John.

  1. John 6:48 I am that bread of life. KJV
  2. John 8:12 Then spake Jesus again unto them, saying, I am the light of the world: he that followeth me shall not walk in darkness, but shall have the light of life. KJV
  3. John 10:9 I am the door: by me if any man enter in, he shall be saved, and shall go in and out, and find pasture. KJV
  4. John 10:11 I am the good shepherd: the good shepherd giveth his life for the sheep. KJV
  5. John 11:25 Jesus said unto her, I am the resurrection, and the life: he that believeth in me, though he were dead, yet shall he live: KJV
  6. John 14:6 Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me. KJV
  7. John 15:1 I am the true vine, and my Father is the husbandman. KJV

It matches quite well with the seven miracles of Jesus that John records.  Seven is so ubiquitous in John’s gospel that we have to ask ourselves, “to what end does he use the number seven?”

The number seven in the Scriptures is the number of completion and fulfillment.  God created the world in six days and then rested on the seventh day, his creation was complete. Jack Wellman points out that: “The number seven in the Bible represents divine perfection, totality or completion and is mentioned at least 490 times.”

Why does John uses the number seven so many times in his story about Jesus?  He uses it because he wants us to notice it and have it remind us of the divine perfection of God’s Son.  After all, he isn’t shy about informing us just why he wrote his story:

“Therefore many other signs Jesus also performed in the presence of the disciples, which are not written in this book; but these have been written so that you may believe that Jesus is the Christ, the Son of God; and that believing you may have life in His name.”
(John 20:30–31 NAS95)

This entry was posted in gospel of john and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

